What To Expect from Apple/PH store

Dj Hernandez
6 min readOct 18, 2020

--

So here’s a look-back of my recent trip to the Philippine Apple Store.

BEFORE READING: Here’s the data of my order.

For history, I’m writing this coming from a 13 inch 2018 MacBook Pro, I basically picked up what’s available from the top shelf during that time I got it (guess what; August 2018) and I’m looking to completely subscribe to the “new computer” experience — so I sold it before getting a direct replacement.

I’ve decided to get a Personalized 12.9-inch iPad Pro Wi-Fi 512GB — Space Gray, yes I just copied and pasted that from the cart. Let’s just call it the ‘iPad’ for the rest of this post.

It’s widely published information that the Apple Store isn’t the fastest, cheapest, or even “best” way to purchase any of these, the same could be said for other products. I am focusing on the experience that I can back up with data to provide you with information that can help your decision.

Let’s do the same for the Personalized Apple Pencil (2nd Generation) and a Magic Keyboard for iPad Pro 12.9‑inch (4th Generation) — US English — and call them “Keyboard” and “Pencil” endearingly.

Act 1: Placing an Order

I’ve placed the order for the iPad last 31 July 2020, granted that I’ve decided to sell my MacBook before a direct replacement.

I intend to get it in time for my 36th birthday at the time of this writing, but because I’ve been procrastinating the act of placing the order for too long, I’m now signing up for a 6-week trip.

The second batch of order I’ve placed is 6 August 2020. A few days shy of a week, just because I’d like to benchmark what I’m signing up for.

My original intent was to purchase it all together but, I’d like to do a little science experiment on the Apple Store and back up my opinion.

Act 2: My Emotions During the Wait

The real game here is the wait. If you’re unsure how much patience you have, and if you’re like me who wants to get his item the moment he lets go of his money, then you’re in for a ride because it’s the exact opposite.

How my expectations have been managed

Online Store Updates

I consistently check the Apple Store App, daily. At least for the first week and sometimes even more than once.

Granted there’s two separate order batch, either I get a consistent experience or a very unique one. Personally, my heart is tilting toward the latter.

You can see the clear messaging from the Apple Store app and Apple Store website about the status of your order.

The status indicator and the communication are very clear.

The experience left me feeling reassured by a virtuoso waiter managing your expectations with a confident demeanor after confirming that they’ve taken your order.

As a UX Designer, I believe that this is a very good design, straight off the textbook.

As an individual customer who is needy, I want my order validated and the order page has done its job well.

Well, it’s kinda obvious, because it’s stated in their promise that they will keep you informed.

Credit Card Statement

Another worry would be the credit card statements, I struggle hard to keep track of my spending and I want to make sure that I’m getting the value that I paid for.

So the schedule needs to be part of it. Based on my experience it’s been unpredictable at best.

NOTICE: The Philippine Store is charging from Singapore. I learned that this is normal, and suspect it’s because it’s a convenient trade route.

But this is a good indicator of the progress of your order. Based on my experience, they will not start the clock until they’re ready to change the status of your order.

This made me feel confident about how they’re managing my expectations.

Act 3: The Customer Experience

I’ve been doing a lot of face time with North American clients and being +8gmt, things can get weird.

Luckily, I receive an update for any status alert when I wake up in the afternoon. It’s always something pleasant to greet me when the heat starts to turn up and thaws me back to consciousness.

I check the app daily.

Notice the message, the payoff is delightful when it says “Today is the Day” it almost feels like it’s a matter to celebrate about — well in most cases it is.

To me, this is a very personal purchase. When I say personal, I have a history of buying a piece of technology, sticking with it for 2 years or more, and then either selling that or handing it down to family (mostly, my mom).

What I’m wishing for during the experience

I’m hoping that the decision to have something inscribed to it, something very personal motivates me to take the new devices until the end of the line.

I also wished the journey could have been more entertaining.

It would have been great if they can share a quote of the day to reassure me even further like fun facts about successful deliveries.

Share stats with me, like, 10,000,000 orders, 0% disappointments. There’s really a lot to share in my opinion.

Random Ideas, I know, but amidst all this COVID19 chaos, can you blame one if they turn to other places for unique inspiration?

The Experience of Receiving It

It was a test of patience and will, but one after the other, each of the items were delivered.

Notice their estimates, it’s actually a lot more ahead than what they’ve provided.

This could be both good or bad.

Good because you’re going to be delighted when you finally received it.

Bad if you’re leaving home and you don’t have anyone else to wait for you. These local factors can be prepared for, but it’s still something to keep in mind.

In my specific case, I’m confident COVID19 is going to further delay deliveries here in the Philippines.

The Philippine Apple Store is not an exemption to this. But so far, my experience has been, very very acceptable. Given all the hassle that I have to go through waiting.

Act 4: Recommendations

“Should I buy my device from the Philippine Apple Store?”

That’s a good question; the responsible answer is “IT DEPENDS”.

It depends on how personalized do you want it to be, in my specific instance, I want something beyond adhesives, sleeves, and decals. It needs to be part of the device, so I got one that’s engraved off the factory — and only the Apple Store can provide me with that.

Me, being me, this year, the third Year Of The Rat, a good even number to my age, I thought I’ll get myself something for keeps.

It depends on what your schedule is willing to afford, In my case, I don’t think I’ll be traveling overseas anytime soon, so I’m sticking around at home waiting. The waiting is not a concern for me.

It depends on how much you care about savings, there are definitely options to expedite the delivery, get something lower than the SRP like buying from a person who mass-orders educational bundles, and then sell it with a minor price cut from the SRP.

  • None of those options has the iPad specs that I need.
  • None of those options has the personalization that I wanted

In this case, I don’t think I can prove that I’ve shown much consideration about cost savings.

“Was it worth it?”

It is; Straight up.

I hope I’ve shared some useful information, and maybe unlocked a semblance of internal confidence to a very reliable system to help you through the wait.

TLDR Infographic, Reports, and Summary

Here are the charts Observe. Enjoy.

--

--

Dj Hernandez

Non practicing novelist, full time UX/IA Designer. But what I really like to do is take pictures…